Krista Reviews: Jordana Frankel’s – “The Ward”


Frankel_The WardSixteen-year-old Ren is a daredevil mobile racer who will risk everything to survive in the Ward, what remains of a water-logged Manhattan. To save her sister, who is suffering from a deadly illness thought to be caused by years of pollution, Ren accepts a secret mission from the government: to search for a freshwater source in the Ward, with the hope of it leading to a cure.

However, she never expects that her search will lead to dangerous encounters with a passionate young scientist; a web of deceit and lies; and an earth-shattering mystery that’s lurking deep beneath the water’s rippling surface.

Jordana Frankel’s ambitious debut novel and the first in a two-book series, The Ward is arresting, cinematic, and thrilling—perfect for fans of Scott Westerfeld or Ann Aguirre.

Hardcover, 465 pages

Published April 30th 2013 by Katherine Tegen Books

Just as Ren is about to get her chance to become a racer, the government issues a warning that no one may cross the line between The Ward and the rest of the city. The Ward division of the city is water-logged and people are dying from an illness; they are cut off in an effort to keep the illness from causing more damage in the city.

During her races, Ren tries to locate a secret fresh water source that is rumoured to be on The Ward’s side of the city. She works for the government, earning money to take care of herself and her sister. As if she doesn’t have enough on her plate, boy troubles soon arise.

Ren ends up in the race of a lifetime while her sister is on the brink of death and she is on the verge of locating the water source. Every time she thinks she close, something else comes up. It’s a constant struggle for her, and she must remain strong or lose everything.

As the story is based on racing, it is fast paced and with three different angles to the storyline all revolving around Ren, there is never any downtime. What I enjoyed most about the story was its unique plot. It was refreshing to read something a bit different. It made me think a lot about finding the water and what the consequences or benefits may be. It is very much a story of the government versus the people. Recommended.


Keep in contact through the following social networks or via RSS feed:

  • Follow on Facebook
  • Follow on Twitter
  • Follow on Pinterest
  • Follow on Google+
  • Follow on GoodReads
  • Follow on Tumblr
  • Follow on LinkedIn
  • Follow on Keek
  • Follow on YouTube
  • Subscribe