Reviews & Columns

Sarah Reviews: The Winter Isles by Antonia Senior

 

There are books that take some time to get into. Others manage to captivate from the very first page. For me The Winter Isles is the latter.

It opens with a boy stranded on a rock. Sea laps at the edges of this remote outcrop and ...

» Read More

Krista Reviews: My Heart and Other Black Holes by Jasmine Warga

A stunning novel about the transformative power of love, perfect for fans of Jay Asher and Laurie Halse Anderson.

Sixteen-year-old physics nerd Aysel is obsessed with plotting her own death. With a mother who can barely look at her without wincing, classmates who whisper behind ...

» Read More

Joelene Reviews: In the Unlikely Event by Judy Blume

Over a few short months in the early 1950s, three passenger planes crash in the town of Elizabeth. Judy Blume’s latest novel, In the Unlikely Event, is centred on this historical tragedy.

In 1987 Miri Ammerman prepares to return to her hometown, Elizabeth, New Jersey for ...

» Read More

Bel Reviews: This Raging Light by Estelle Laure

As you know, I got this book in the goodie bag from the Hachette evening late last year. It’s the second book I read this year and, wow, what a read.

I sat down at about 2 in the afternoon and only got up for dinner ...

» Read More


Latest News

kaufman-illuminae

2016 Escape Club Book Club

Come and join Krista, Bel and Joelene for the 2016 book club. See the schedule below, and just sign up on our GoodReads page.

Read more...

NC_Burn Bright Boxed Set_600

Night Creatures is a Must Read YA Dystopia

As you know, I got this book in the goodie bag from the Hachette evening late last year. It’s the second book I read this year and, wow, what a read.

I sat down at about 2 in the afternoon and only got up for dinner …

» Read More

Read more...

IF list

Burn Bright on the IF List

For fans of my Night Creatures series, you can vote for which actors you’d like to see in a movie adaptation of Burn Bright over at the IF list. Follow the list and add your own favourites to it!

Read more...

Natasha Obrien

Welcome Our New Blogger: Natasha

We’re excited here at the Escape Club to be welcoming our new LGBTQ blogger Natasha. Tash will be writing in the new YOUR LIFE section about issues young people face (and having some fun along the way).

Read more...

collins_Book 1 - BURNING SEA - front cover

Writing Competition for Younger Writers

The Warlock’s Child writing competition

Ford Street Publishing is running a writing and art competition for students fifteen years of age or younger.

Check this website for all the details on how to enter.

Read more...


Features

Everything We Know About Allegiant

The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey: Could it be?

Bel’s Top 5 Reads 2015

>> More Features

Screen It

TV Review: Shadow Hunters

Film Review: Suffragette

Film Review: The Dressmaker

>> More Screen It

Inspire Me

Mirror Mirror: Temple Grandin

Mirror Mirror: Sophie Delezio

Mirror Mirror: Margaret Bourke-White

>> More Inspire Me

Your Life

Tash Says: LGBQT Youth Crisis

Tash Says: A, B, C, D, LGBTQ+

Tash Says: ‘That’s so Gay!’ Queer Kids and Bullying

>> More Your Life


Marianne's Books


Keep in contact through the following social networks or via RSS feed:

  • Follow on Facebook
  • Follow on Twitter
  • Follow on Pinterest
  • Follow on Google+
  • Follow on GoodReads
  • Follow on Tumblr
  • Follow on LinkedIn
  • Follow on Keek
  • Follow on YouTube
  • Subscribe